The Traveling Cats Tour: A canopy is on, the wonderful thing I’m participating in and a PARTY!!

It was a beautiful day to travel over to the peninsula for the trip to Shelton to get the canopy.

It was a beautiful day to travel over to the peninsula for the trip to Shelton to get the canopy.

I know I’ve been teasing you with mentions of the wonderful thing I’m participating in so ….

I’ve been in touch with the most remarkable and strong woman ever! I found her post on FaceBook last year about her mission to help families whose children have committed suicide and what she wants to do to remember her 20 year old son who killed himself. She is sending tiny bits of his ashes to be scattered in places he would have loved to visit. His dream was to travel and find adventure but his demons got the best of him before he could do any of those things. She decided to do this as a way of making all of us mindful of how lucky we are to do all of the things, both everyday and extraordinary, we do without thinking. I will be taking a small vial of his ashes with me on my journey and will scatter them on the kite surfing beach that feels perfect for him. I haven’t decided which one yet, it’s a toss up between Jetty Island, WA or one of the Canadian beaches but I know the beach will speak to me and ask for him to make it his home. I feel so honored to be a part of this process. You can read about all the places he’s been taken to at https://www.facebook.com/scatteringcj/info (If you have a loved one or pet that you would like me to do this with, please send me an email at donnaread50@aol.com I will send you photos and a blog entry will be dedicated to the moment)

Here’s where I am on my efforts to get ready to make that trip …

So…the canopy finding saga is over! I have the canopy and Betty now has a bonnet. It’s not great or new or even all that functional (the back window struts don’t work and it’s a bit beat up) but it fits and it has a rear window boot that allows the cats to come and go as they wish. That way I can put the cage together and put it in the back for them to chill in while I’m out of the truck or getting the camp set up. One thing down, a gazillion others to worry about..

Today is a really bad day emotionally. It’s been an uphill struggle to get all the things I need to survive and I need so much more. I’ve set up an event for August 23rd at Gas Works Park in Seattle to try and raise money and get donations of things like cat food, litter, camping supplies, non-perishable food items, personal toiletry items and gift cards for gas and emergency purchases at Amazon while I’m on the road. Here’s the link if you’re in the area or are going to be. Everyone is invited regardless of their ability to donate. I just want to spend my last day here in the US with the people I love .. Photographers. Oh, and my friends too. lol http://www.meetup.com/Seattle-Photography-Club/events/197397102/i3/fbsd_event_details?gj=fbsd_ed&rv=fbsd_ed&from_fb=true If you would like to participate some other way, please email me at donnaread50@aol.com.

I’m exhausted from all of this. I took today to play and nap but I’ve been working at finding resources and funding all day. I didn’t mean to but I just can’t seem to relax and enjoy the day. I’m off to Jetty Island tomorrow to meet up with the my good friend Roberto Soza to discuss stills and creative ideas for the kite surfing video I’m helping him with. It’s a non-profit venture but it could lead to other things… Just like everything else I’m doing but all things photography are such labors of love I just can’t resist. But before I go ….

Betty and her bonnet need a serious scrubbing! Hitting the U-wash tomorrow on my way to the island. Hours before. She’s a really dirty girl! Kind of like me but I don’t talk about that šŸ˜‰

So that’s where I am in this saga.
Thanks for dropping by and stay tuned for Packing: The Horror!

Donna
Donna Read Visions
The Traveling Cats Tour

Leave a Reply

