The Traveling Cats Tour: A day of terrifying firsts and what I learned.

7-30-13ferry2Nikon200mm160sf14i200

Yesterday was a bit of a scream! And not the fun kind. I had to drive Betty to lunch in the city cuz there was no parking at all at the Lite Rail station! None! I hate driving in the city. A lot! But it wasn’t too bad surprisingly enough. I’ve driven in downtown Seattle exactly 2 times counting yesterday. First time made me cry (it was 25 years ago and I wasn’t medicated yet. Another story) but yesterday just made me curse. A LOT! Why did I go knowing how much I would hate it? Well …..

I had lunch with the funniest, most compassionate man I’ve met in a very long time. His name is Pablo Gerber and I can’t wait to meet his girlfriend Natalie. I’ll be going on some photo safaris with them both before I leave and I am really looking forward to it. They want to learn how to shoot a few things and I love teaching so it’s a match made in photography heaven! He also bought a print of mine for which I am so grateful. The auction didn’t bring in as much as I’d hoped but I did get a couple of private sales out of it. Pablo and I discussed ideas about marketing and offering lessons but I don’t have much time left here so it’s kind of a moot point. Unless I can generate some students wherever I go. I’ll still know how to shoot LOL After I left Pablo, I headed up to Kirkland for a Lightroom class. What a trip that was!

I got on the freeway to go to the class and it wasn’t all bad. I just got in a neutral middle lane and stayed there. And went zipping past the exit that Google Navigate didn’t mention. When I saw the exits for Everett, I knew I was in trouble so I got off the freeway and stopped at a gas station to get a soda. When I checked with MapQuest instead of the Navigator, there was the exit I should have taken clearly marked! Guess which one I’ll be using on the road! So I got back on the freeway, found the exit, used it easily (which is not always the case here. some exits are a bitch to navigate!) and got headed in the right direction. Since I’m not comfortable driving at high speeds yet, I tucked in behind a camper and stayed there until my exit came up. That’s when the fun started ….

Even though the streets were clearly marked, I had no way to tell that the street I wanted wasn’t a main street. It wasn’t even a decently marked residential street! It was more like a driveway leading to the place where the class was taking place. I drove around in circles for an hour trying to find it. Did I mention that Betty only gets 10 miles to the gallon? Sigh. A quarter tank later I was driving by this ‘street’ for about the 12th time and saw the tiny street sign. Finally! I’m so glad I did! The class was amazing …

Levi Sim taught the Lightroom class offered through NW Lens and Photofocus.com. He is an entertaining, engaging instructor who’s style is so comfortable and simple, you pay attention through the entire 3 hours. It actually went 3.5 hours because he started playing with some photos to show us a few more advanced functions. I learned a ton! The class started with the basics right from the minute you open Lightroom! Exactly where I needed to start. I have edited exactly 1 photo using it and I plan on editing thousands more with it! After I get more comfortable with it, my workflow will be so much more streamlined! Learning curve engaged! I did have one dark moment during my trip though …

Betty needs a new tail pipe. I need a shop that will be charitable. Sigh. Not many of them around but I take really good photos of cars (I shoot them like the beautiful ladies they are and the love shows!) so I can offer website shots or beauty shots for their customers for free. I’m hoping that the contacts I made at the Patron’s Car Show this month can help me find a shop that will do it. I discovered this need after I got lost and stopped in Everett yesterday. I came out of the mini-mart after buying a soda and saw that the tailpipe was hanging down almost to the ground! No wonder everyone on the road stayed so far back! I did kinda wonder about that! I had some old rubber bungee cords in the truck so I used all of them to get them there and back. Going to use a wire coat hanger today because I have an exciting day ahead of me…

I am going to pick up my canopy that my dear friend Steven Rosenow found me. The catch is that I have to go to Shelton to get it! That involves a trip to the city again (ugh) and getting on a ferry. First time driving on a ferry ever! Very exciting! Filling the gas tank to get there .. not so much lol

So that was yesterday and today I’m attempting a couple more firsts. How cool is that?

More about my trip to Shelton today later. Thanks for dropping by and we’ll see you next time. I still haven’t told you the wonderful thing I’ve been asked to do!

Donna
Donna Read Visions
The Traveling Cats Tour

Leave a Reply

